Skip to content

ain’t no party like an s-club party

June 19, 2009

We were having a music nerd conversation this morning about vinyl (we’re for it), illegal music downloading (we’re against it), and iTunes (we use it), and it got me thinking about album leaks.

We’re in the studio right now working our asses off to make the best record we possibly can.  We’ve already put countless hours of work into writing and perfecting the songs, and we’ll put tons more into recording them and polishing them until they shine so bright that you can’t even look at them directly.  When thats finished, we’re going to lovingly arrange a tracklist.  And then we’ll agonize over making the coolest looking packaging we can possibly come up with.  When its all finished, we’ll have a little bundle of joy that represents all of our hopes and dreams and work over the last two years.

And then its going to leak early and everyone will download it from Torrent sites a month before it comes out.  Theres really nothing that anyone can do about it, but its a real bummer.  We’re working really hard on this and I think that we have the right to decide how and when people get to listen to it for the first time.  Is that so much to ask?

xo

Graham

IMG_3020

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2009 7:21 pm

    I don’t know about those illegal-dowloaders, but I think anyone who reads this site must really love you guys and will most definitely buy the physical copy 😀

  2. lookuptobicycle permalink*
    June 19, 2009 10:13 pm

    preaching to the choir…

  3. mel permalink
    June 24, 2009 5:32 pm

    every tokyo police club album is a bundle of joy to me.. no circumstances will stop me from having the pleasure of purchasing an actual copy of your album, thus owning a little piece of musical heavan!! im not trying to sound creepy, you guys are just the best ❤

  4. Steven permalink
    June 26, 2009 11:08 pm

    I love Tokyo Police Club. I love music. I love to make music. I love everything that has to do with music. I wish I could support it in a way that is more suitable for those who make it, especially when this has become their profession. That being said, and no offense to any other musicians, I feel that the fact people even take the time to download someone’s music just to embrace it is a feeling too great. However, having the music being bought is not something that needs to be avoided! Yes, I am saying this being an ignorant teenager who still lives off his parents, but like I have said many-a-times to many-a-people, “I would be perfectly happy making music for a living and living under a bridge.” Obviously, that lifestyle is one that I hope to avoid, but I stand by that statement completely. As I have self-released much music that I have put a great amount of time into, I release it for free and the satisfaction comes solely from the number of downloads that is greater than just one (that one being me testing to see if the download works). After all that I have said I hope that no one reads this thinking that supporting a band is a complete waste of time. Whenever my favorite bands are in town I try my hardest to attend not only for the majestic performance that I am about to embark on, but the satisfaction of supporting a person/group of people that do something that influences me in many ways. That also goes for the records that I do buy (I have two “Elephant Shell” vinyls, an “Elephant Shell” CD, two Tokyo Police Club T-shirts, and bundles of pins). I really hope that no one takes offense to this in anyway as I am just trying to relay my opinion out there. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

